Space and time for contemporary productions

Frankfurt LAB Residency Programme Frankfurt Moves!

Since 2014 the Frankfurt LAB has been hosting an annual residency programme, to offer emerging artists space and time for the development of artistic work. In these past years, we have been able to invite interesting artistic positions and to create sustainable synergies between the artists in residence and Frankfurt LABs partner institutions. We would like to thank the Stiftung Polytechnische Gesellschaft Frankfurt am Main and the Crespo Foundation for their support.

Since 2021 the residency programme has become more international, as part of Frankfurt Moves!, a joint programme with the KfW Stiftung. We are very happy to host four artist residencies at the Frankfurt LAB in 2022. Through the programme, we wish to promote up-and-coming international artists from the performing arts, who were trained in Africa, Asia, Latin America or the MENA region. From 19. July to 19. August 2022 the artists in residence will be able to use the professional rehearsal spaces of the Frankfurt LAB to work on a new project or conduct research. The benefits include a fee, costs for documentation, expenses for travel and accommodation as well as networking opportunities. At the end of the residency, it will be possible to present the results of the work publicly. You can find the open call and application documents here.

An expert jury selected four artists / teams from three continents out of a large number of applications. The following artists will join us in Frankfurt: In “Gnathost-o-mata“ the interdisciplinary performance artist Carla Tapparo from Argentina connects mix-culture, like raves and DJ-ing, with storytelling techniques to create new meaning and experiences. She is interested in the relationship between the individual and the collective body. Bodies also interest the dancers and choreographers Emmanuel Ndefo and Femi Adebajo from Nigeria. In “Traces of Ectasy” they investigate male vulnerability and intimacy. Dancer and choreographer Stephanie Kayal has joined up with the musician and composer *Abed Kobeissy to deal with the physical and psychological injuries caused by life in Lebanon. As a sci-fi anti-hero she is out for vengeance in “Galactic Crush”. The feminist theater collective around director Manjari Kaul from India will develop “Firefly Women”, a play based on the letters from jail of two women, who were incarcerated because of draconian laws.

The KfW Stiftung and the Frankfurt LAB congratulate the artists and are looking forward to the creative exchange in Frankfurt. A workshop presentation of the work will be presented on 18. August 2022 at the Frankfurt LAB.

„Frankfurt Moves!“ is an initiative of the foundation KfW Stiftung in cooperation with the Frankfurt LAB aimed at promoting up-and-coming international artists in the performing arts sector.

Julian Weber, constructing ruins © Jörg Baumann

Applications must arrive at the latest by 30. January 2022 at 23:59 PM (cet). Applications arriving afterwards will not be considered.

Queries may be made by email to: residencies@frankfurt-lab.de

More information here

Artists in Residence 2022:
Carla Tapparo
Stephanie Kayal &Abed Kobeissy
Emmanuel Ndefo & Femi Adebajo
Manjari Kaul, Savita Rani & Priiya

Artists in Residence 2021:
Ghida Hachicho
Bassem Saad
Ali Eyal
Marwa Arsanios

Artists in Residence 2020:
Artemis Chrysostomidou
Mayah Kadish
Romulad Krężel and
René Alejandro Huari Mateus
Joseph Wegmann

Space and time for contemporary productions
Frankfurt LAB Residenzprogramm "Frankfurt Moves!"

Seit 2014 bietet das Frankfurt LAB Residenzen an, um Nachwuchskünstler:innen Raum und Zeit für die (Weiter-)entwicklung von künstlerischen Arbeiten zu geben. In den vergangenen Jahren konnten spannende künstlerische Positionen ins Frankfurt LAB eingeladen und nachhaltige Synergien zwischen Residenzkünstler:innen und den LAB-Partnerinstitutionen geschaffen werden. Besonders danken möchten wir an dieser Stelle der Stiftung Polytechnische Gesellschaft Frankfurt am Main und der Crespo Foundation für ihre Unterstützung und Engagement.

Wir freuen uns seit 2021 gemeinsam mit der KfW Stiftung das neue Format Frankfurt Moves! anbieten zu können und damit das LAB Residenzprogramm internationaler auszurichten: So bieten wir in 2022 gemeinsam mit der KfW Stiftung am Frankfurt LAB vier Residenzen an. Frankfurt Moves! richtet sich an aufstrebende Künstler:innen, die in den Darstellenden Künsten arbeiten und in Afrika, Asien, Lateinamerika oder in Nahost ausgebildet wurden. Vom 19. Juli bis 19. August 2022 stehen den Residenzkünstler:innen die professionellen Spielstätten des Frankfurt LAB, samt vorhandener Technik, zur Verfügung. Die Residenz beinhaltet darüber hinaus ein Honorar, Dokumentationskosten, Reise- und Übernachtungskosten sowie die Möglichkeit der Vernetzung mit Kulturschaffenden aus der Region. Das Frankfurt LAB bietet am Ende der Residenz die Möglichkeit, Arbeitsergebnisse öffentlich zu präsentieren. Die komplette Ausschreibung findet sich hier.

Eine Expert:innenjury wählte aus der großen Anzahl an Einreichungen vier Künstler:innen-Teams aus drei Kontinenten aus:
Die interdisziplinäre Performancekünstlerin Carla Tapparo aus Argentinien verbindet in „Gnathost-o-mata“ mix-culture, wie Raves und Dj-ing, mit Erzähltechniken, um neue Bedeutungen und Erfahrungen zu schaffen. Dabei interessiert sie die Beziehung zum individuellen und kollektiven Körper. Mit Körpern beschäftigen sich auch die Tänzer und Choreografen Emmanuel Ndefo und Femi Adebajo aus Nigeria. In „Traces of Ecstasy“ untersuchen sie männliche Verletzlichkeiten und Intimität. Tänzerin und Choreografin Stephanie Kayal hat sich mit dem Musiker und Komponisten Abed Kobeissy zusammengetan, um sich mit „Galactic Crush“ an den physischen und psychologischen Verletzungen der letzten Jahre im Libanon als sci-fi Antiheldin zu rächen. Das feministische Theaterkollektiv um Regisseurin Manjari Kaul aus Indien wird „Firefly Women“ weiterentwickeln. Das Theaterstück basiert auf den Briefen zweier Frauen aus dem Gefängnis, wo sie aufgrund drakonischer und frauenfeindlicher Gesetzgebung inhaftiert sind.

Die KfW Stiftung und das Frankfurt LAB gratulieren den ausgewählten Künstler:innen und freuen sich auf die Begegnung und den Austausch in Frankfurt. Einen Einblick in die Ergebnisse der Residenzen bietet eine Werkstattpräsentation am 18.8.2022 im Frankfurt LAB.

Frankfurt Moves! ist eine Initiative der KfW Stiftung in Kooperation mit dem Frankfurt LAB zur Förderung internationaler aufstrebender Künstler:innen im Bereich Darstellende Künste.

Julian Weber, constructing ruins © Jörg Baumann

Die Bewerbungsfrist endete am 30.01.2022 um 23:59 (cet). Bewerbungen, die nachträglich eintreffen, werden nicht berücksichtigt.

Rückfragen können per Email gestellt werden: residencies@frankfurt-lab.de

Mehr Information hier

Resident:innen 2022:
Carla Tapparo
Stephanie Kayal &Abed Kobeissy
Emmanuel Ndefo & Femi Adebajo
Manjari Kaul, Savita Rani & Priiya

Resident:innen 2021:
Ghida Hachicho
Bassem Saad
Ali Eyal
Marwa Arsanios

Resident:innen 2020:
Artemis Chrysostomidou
Mayah Kadish
Romulad Krężel und
René Alejandro Huari Mateus
Joseph Wegmann