Space and time for contemporary productions
Mo.
31.01.22
Deadline

OPEN CALL Frankfurt Moves! FRANKFURT LAB RESIDENCY PROGRAMME

In the framework of the Residency Programme Frankfurt Moves! the foundation KfW Stiftung and the Frankfurt LAB invite you to develop artistic productions in the fields of the performing arts and to exchange ideas with other creative artists. The Artists in Residence will be invited to Frankfurt am Main, a German metropolis in the heart of Europe, for a period of four weeks. The teams will be able to access the professional venues of the Frankfurt LAB and will be provided with dramaturgic and technical support. At the end of the residency, it will be possible to present the results of the work publicly. In 2022 a total of four residencies at the Frankfurt LAB will be made available for the following time period:

19 July to 19 August 2022

The programme is aimed at promising professional international emerging artists working in the performing arts. They must have produced their first professional productions (max. one international co-production) and must have been trained in Africa, Asia, Latin America or the MENA region. Particular attention will be paid to those who are living and working on the mentioned continents at the time of making the application.

About the Frankfurt LAB
The Frankfurt LAB is a production space for rehearsing and performing experimental works in the fields of the performing arts and contemporary music. Artistic responsibility is shared by its partners the Ensemble Modern, the Dresden Frankfurt Dance Company, the Hessische Theaterakademie, the Hochschule für Music and Darstellende Kunst Frankfurt am Main and the Künstlerhaus Mousonturm.

Benefits of the Residency Programme:

• Fee (a total of max. 3.000 Euro gross per residency)
• 4 weeks accommodation in Frankfurt for 1-2 persons
• Travel expenses to Frankfurt (round trip) for 1-2 persons
• Material costs (a total of max. 800 Euro gross per residency)
• Professional documentation
• Professional rehearsal space1 / use of one of the Frankfurt LAB venues (Hall 1 / Hall 2), including the use of the existing technical
equipment
• Workshop presentation2 with support by an event technician on 4 days
• Dramaturgic and technical support by staff of the Frankfurt LAB, the partner institutions and/or external experts
• “Culture voucher” for cultural events in Frankfurt and networking with the regional scene

1-Rehearsal-Space: both venues of the Frankfurt LAB are at the disposal of the four teams, meaning that two teams share a hall, to which they have unlimited access. Both halls are black boxes (Hall 1: 600 square metres, divisible by a curtain / Hall 2: 300 square metre studio stage), which have a grid and numerus hanging possibilities. The Frankfurt LAB also has a kitchen, dressing-rooms and showers for the residents. Existing technical equipment (sound, light, video, stage) can be used by arrangement, and basic technical supervision on site is available.

2-The final presentation should provide scope for reflection and exchange and need not be a completely finished production.

Who can apply?
The residency offers excellent conditions for the (further) development and implementation of artistic works, for a maximum two persons per residency. Applications by groups with a larger number of people will have to divide the benefits between the participants.

Applicants should:
• Work in the performing arts – interdisciplinary approaches are possible
• Have been trained in Africa, Asia, Latin America or the MENA region (at least one member of a group)
• Have had first professional experiences (incl. max. one international co-production)
• Name one concrete project idea or specific research project
• Be working on a future-oriented project, not on an already existing production
• Be able to organise a showing of the residency results with the available means +/ persons
• Have the time to spend the complete duration of the residency in Frankfurt am Main
• Be interested in an exchange of ideas with artists and cultural institutions in Frankfurt
• Impart no hostility towards any groups of people in their projects
• Be able to communicate in German or English

Application procedure:

The Application Form requests the applicants to provide details about the project, their motivation for the application and video links to recent works. An additional project description can be entered in PDF form (max. 4 pages)

Please send us the complete application by email ONLY to residencies@frankfurt-lab.de

Applications must arrive at the latest by 30. January 2022 at 23:59 hrs (cet). Applications arriving after the 30. January 2022 will not be considered. Queries may be made by email to: residencies@frankfurt-lab.de

A jury of experts decides on the award of the residencies. The applicants will be informed about the jury’s decision by early March 2022.

„Frankfurt Moves!“ is an initiative of the foundation KfW Stiftung in cooperation with the Frankfurt LAB aimed at promoting up-and-coming international artists in the performing arts sector.

The application form can be downloaded HERE.

Space and time for contemporary productions
Mo.
31.01.22
Deadline

AUSSCHREIBUNG Frankfurt Moves! FRANKFURT LAB RESIDENZPROGRAMM

Im Rahmen des Residenzprogramms Frankfurt Moves! laden die KfW Stiftung und das Frankfurt LAB dazu ein, künstlerische Produktionen aus den Bereichen Darstellende Kunst zu entwickeln und gemeinsam mit anderen Kulturschaffenden in den Austausch zu treten. Die Artists in Residence werden für vier Wochen nach Frankfurt am Main eingeladen, eine deutsche Metropole im Herzen Europas. Die Teams können dabei auf die professionellen Spielstätten des Frankfurt LAB zugreifen und erhalten dramaturgische und technische Begleitung. Zum Abschluss der Residenz bietet sich die Möglichkeit, Arbeitsergebnisse öffentlich zu präsentieren. 2022 werden insgesamt vier Residenzen am Frankfurt LAB zum folgenden Zeitraum vergeben:

19. Juli bis 19. August 2022

Das Programm wendet sich an vielversprechende, professionelle und internationale Nachwuchskünstler:innen, die in den Darstellenden Künsten arbeiten, bereits erste professionelle Produktionen zeigen konnten (darunter max. eine internationale Koproduktion), und in Afrika, Asien, Lateinamerika oder Nahost ausgebildet wurden. Besonders berücksichtigt werden diejenigen, die zum Zeitpunkt der Bewerbung in den genannten Kontinenten leben und arbeiten.

Über das Frankfurt LAB
Das Frankfurt LAB ist ein Proben- und Aufführungshaus für experimentelle Arbeiten in den Bereichen der szenischen Künste und der zeitgenössischen Musik. Es wird künstlerisch verantwortet von seinen Partnern Ensemble Modern, Dresden Frankfurt Dance Company, Hessische Theaterakademie, Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Kunst Frankfurt am Main und dem Künstlerhaus Mousonturm.

Leistungen des Residenzprogramms

• Honorar (insg. max. 3.000 Euro brutto pro Residenz)
• 4 Wochen Unterkunft in Frankfurt für 1-2 Personen
• Reisekosten nach Frankfurt (Hin- & Rückflug) für 1-2 Personen
• Materialkosten (insg. max. 800 Euro brutto pro Residenz)
• Professionelle Dokumentation
• Professioneller Probenraum / Nutzung einer Spielstätte des Frankfurt LAB (Halle 1 / Halle 2) samt vorhandener Technik
• Werkstattpräsentation und Betreuung durch eine:n Veranstaltungstechniker:in an 4 Tagen
• Dramaturgische und technische Beratung durch Mitarbeiter:innen
des Frankfurt LAB, der Partnerinstitutionen und/oder externer Expert:innen
• „Kulturgutschein“ für das kulturelle Angebot Frankfurts und Vernetzung mit der regionalen Szene

1-Probenraum: Den insgesamt vier Teams stehen die beiden Spielstätten des Frankfurt LAB zur Verfügung, sodass sich je zwei Teams eine Halle teilen, zu der sie uneingeschränkten Zugang erhalten. Bei beiden Hallen handelt es sich um Blackboxes (Halle 1: 600 qm, trennbar durch einen Vorhang / Halle 2: 300 qm Studiobühne), die über ein Grid und zahlreiche Hängemöglichkeiten verfügen. Das Frankfurt LAB bietet darüber hinaus eine Küche, Garderoben und Duschen für die Resident:innen. Nach Absprache kann vorhandenes technisches Equipment (Ton, Licht, Video, Bühne) genutzt werden und eine grundständige technische Beratung vor Ort ist gegeben.

2-Die Abschlusspräsentation soll Raum für Reflexion und Austausch ermöglichen und muss keine fertige Produktion sein.

Wer kann sich bewerben?
Die Residenz bietet optimale Bedingungen für die (Weiter-)Entwicklung und Umsetzung von künstlerischen Arbeiten, für maximal zwei Personen pro Residenz. Bei Bewerbungen von Gruppen mit höherer Personenzahl müssen die Leistungen zwischen den Teilnehmenden aufgeteilt werden.

Bewerber:innen sollten:
• in den Darstellenden Künsten arbeiten – interdisziplinäre Ansätze sind möglich
• in Afrika, Asien, Lateinamerika oder Nahost ausgebildet worden sein (min. ein Gruppenmitglied)
• erste professionelle Erfahrungen aufweisen (darunter max. eine internationale Koproduktion)
• eine konkrete Projektidee oder spezifisches Recherchevorhaben benennen
• an einem zukunftsgerichteten Projekt arbeiten, nicht an einer bereits existierenden Produktion
• ein Showing der Residenzergebnisse mit den vorhandenen Mitteln / Personen umsetzen können
• für den gesamten Zeitraum der Residenz in Frankfurt am Main verfügbar sein
• Interesse am Austausch mit Künstler:innen und Kulturinstitutionen in Frankfurt mitbringen
• keine gruppenbezogene Menschenfeindlichkeit in ihren Projekten vermitteln
• sich auf Deutsch oder Englisch verständigen können

Bewerbungsverfahren:

Im Bewerbungsformular werden die Bewerber:innen um Angaben zum Projekt, zur Motivation der Bewerbung und um Videolinks zu jüngeren Arbeiten gebeten. Eine zusätzliche Projektbeschreibung kann als PDF eingereicht werden (max. 4 Seiten).

Wir bitten darum, die vollständige Bewerbung ausschließlich per Email an residencies@frankfurt-lab.de einzureichen.

Die Bewerbungsfrist endet am 30.01.2022 um 23:59 (cet). Bewerbungen, die nach dem 30.01.2022 eintreffen, werden nicht berücksichtigt. Rückfragen können per Email gestellt werden: residencies@frankfurt-lab.de

Eine Fachjury entscheidet über die Vergabe. Die Bewerber*innen werden bis Anfang März über die Entscheidung der Jury informiert.

„Frankfurt Moves!“ ist eine Initiative der KfW Stiftung in Kooperation mit dem Frankfurt LAB zur Förderung internationaler aufstrebender Künstlerinnen im Bereich Darstellende Künste.*

Das Bewerbungsformular kann HIER heruntergeladen werden.