Space and time for contemporary productions
Sa.
05.03.22
19:00

Give us a poem
ICCS young_professionals

Give us a poem! This appeal which students addressed to Muhammad Ali in 1975 is here taken up by five young composers from five different countries. Together with Ensemble Modern, composer Lucia Ronchetti and conductor Stefan Asbury as well as two young conductors, they have conceived and developed their new works in joint working sessions and will present them on this evening. Afterwards things turn culinary: freitagsküche has developed an experimental setting inviting visitors to get together for a ›Do-it-Yourself-Agit-Pop-up-Restaurant‹, celebrating a joint ›MeWeMeal‹ for the festival’s finale.

Give us a poem is part of cresc… Biennial for Current Music Frankfurt Rhine Main 2022- Under the title ›MeWe‹, the festival cresc… 2022 explores the relationship between the individual and the collective over the course of two weekends, exploring a multitude of varieties of current music. Contemporary music meets Sci-Fi Funk and Afro-Beat; Iceland’s music scene meets a West African-German band. The audience is invited to experience the monumental ›Earth Dances‹ by Sir Harrison Birtwistle both in concert and as a walk-in sound sculpture, assemble an edible composition via an unusual parcours, and be an active performer. Five world premieres by selected composers offer their own take on the appeal to »Give us a poem!« before concertgoers get to open a ›Do it-Yourself-Agit-Pop-up-Restaurant‹ together.

Duration: 100 min / intermission

Katherine Balch: waste knot (2021/22), UA
Omer Barash: Te’ena (2021/22), UA
Phillip Krebs: Paramount (2021/22), UA
Piotr Peszat: Gewalt der Musik (2021/22), UA
Kitty Xiao: In flesh II (2021/22), UA
freitagsküche: MeWeMeal – a Do-it-Yourself-Agit-Pop-up-Restaurant

Ensemble Modern
Nina Guo soprano
Sara Caneva conductor
Angus Lee conductor
Felix Dreher sound control
Lucia Ronchetti coach composition
Stefan Asbury coach conduct
Lea Felizitas Helm, Lea Luka Sikau media dramaturgy
freitagsküche

World premieres as part of young_professionals of the ICCS (International Composer & Conductor Seminars) by Ensemble Modern and the International Ensemble Modern Academy to promote young composers and conductors.
The ICCS are made possible by the Aventis Foundation.

Tickets here

Bookable as a 3-choice subscription with 25% savings (only by phone on 069 155 2000)

Space and time for contemporary productions
Sa.
05.03.22
19:00

Give us a poem
ICCS young_professionals

Give us a poem! Diesen 1975 von Studierenden an Muhammad Ali gerichteten Aufruf greifen hier fünf junge Komponist:innen aus fünf verschiedenen Ländern auf. Gemeinsam mit dem Ensemble Modern, der Komponistin Lucia Ronchetti und dem Dirigenten Stefan Asbury sowie zwei Nachwuchs-Dirigent:innen erarbeiteten sie ihre neuen Werke in gemeinsamen Arbeitsphasen und präsentieren sie an diesem Abend. Danach wird es kulinarisch: Die freitagsküche entwirft eine Versuchsanordnung, die die Besucher:innen einlädt, sich zu einem ›Do-it-Yourself-Agit-Pop-up-Restaurant‹ zusammenzutun, um zum Festivalabschluss ein gemeinsames ›MeWeMeal‹ zu zelebrieren.

Give us a poem findet im Rahmen der cresc… Biennale für aktuelle Musik Frankfurt Rhein Main 2022 statt. Unter dem Titel ›MeWe‹ erforscht cresc... 2022 an zwei Wochenenden das Verhältnis von Individuum und Gemeinschaft in einer Vielfalt von Spielarten aktueller Musik. Zeitgenössische Musik trifft auf Sci-Fi Funk und Afro-Beat, die isländische Musikszene auf eine westafrikanisch-deutsche Band. Das Publikum ist eingeladen, die klanggewaltigen ›Earth Dances‹ von Sir Harrison Birtwistle sowohl im Konzert als auch als begehbare Klangskulptur zu erleben, sich auf einem ungewöhnlichen Parcours eine essbare Komposition zusammenzustellen und aktiv als Interpretinnen zu agieren. Fünf Uraufführungen ausgewählter Komponistinnen befassen sich mit der Forderung »Give us a poem!« bevor die Zuschauer*innen zum Schluss gemeinsam ein ›Do it-Yourself-Agit-Pop-up-Restaurant‹ erstellen.

Dauer: 100 min / Pause

Katherine Balch: waste knot (2021/22), UA
Omer Barash: Te’ena (2021/22), UA
Phillip Krebs: Paramount (2021/22), UA
Piotr Peszat: Gewalt der Musik (2021/22), UA
Kitty Xiao: In flesh II (2021/22), UA
freitagsküche: MeWeMeal – ein Do-it-Yourself-Agit-Pop-up-Restaurant

Ensemble Modern
Nina Guo Sopran
Sara Caneva Dirigentin
Angus Lee Dirigent
Felix Dreher Klangregie
Lucia Ronchetti Coach Komposition
Stefan Asbury Coach Dirigat
Lea Felizitas Helm, Lea Luka Sikau Mediendramaturgie
freitagsküche

Uraufführungen im Rahmen von young_professionals der ICCS (International Composer & Conductor Seminars) von Ensemble Modern und Internationale Ensemble Modern Akademie zur Förderung junger Komponistinnen und Dirigentinnen.
Die ICCS werden ermöglicht durch die Aventis Foundation.

Tickets hier

Im 3er-Wahlabo mit 25% Ersparnis buchbar (nur telefonisch unter 069 155 2000)